Dang

I was mistaken.  Truce broken, no treaty.  I think it was my fault.  I allowed myself to engage in an argument.  I was defensive and even a bit angry by the end of it.  She won by calling an end to it.

Here are the questions of the day.

1.  My philosophy is to avoid the oncoming Mack truck.  The law of gross tonnage translates quite clearly to get out of the way of anything bigger than you are.  Question not whether it will dodge you.  I did this the other day with the BBSUV and was attacked for it.  I will quote Heinlein on this:  “It may be better to be a live jackal than a dead lion.  I say it is better still to be a live lion, and maybe easier.”  A lion knows when not to get in a fight.  Why is that wrong enough to hurt our relationship?

2.  My ideals are a combined result of several years of living an unusual life and encountering unusual people, all of whom are exceptionally intelligent.  Counted high among these people and experiences are my wife and our life together.  Suddenly, it seems I am faced with compulsory revision or deletion of some of my core ideals.  Is it necessary to do so in order to preserve our relationship?

3.  RELIGION.  I do not approve of many of the teachings of organized religion.  I do not believe that church, faith, ritual or any other religious concept is integral to my existence.  I feel that, all my life, the church has taught me more falsehoods than truths.  HOWEVER, I usually keep my trap shut about this.  I do not condemn others’ religious choices in deed or word.  I do not attend church.  I will not be coerced into attending church for any reason.  To participate in this farce is a breach of my integrity.  Why is this an issue in preserving our relationship?

4.  Forgive my objectivist tendencies, but if someone wants help, is anyone obliged to jump up from their own personal war with their own demons to help their neighbor battle it out with something completely unrelated?  I am willing to help, within my abilities, with any issue.  Does this mean I have to put my life or my vital dealings on hold?

5.  If something is bad for you…  I’m not talking about smoking or beer or talking too loud…  But really bad, such as a dangerous, untrustworthy, criminal existing in your house, what do you do?  My personal approach to the situation would be either rid my house of the threat or rid myself of the house.  I am receiving unfounded attacks upon my character.  This is not just some aspect of my character, but ALL of me.  I am starting to have a split personality of which my other half is a drunk, abusive, criminal, crazed sort of “trailer-trash” bum/male.  I swore not to take this personally, but C’MON!

I’ll stop now.  That was the Saturday 5.  I’m on the couch again, so you know where to reach me.  Just a stone’s throw from this here monitor, yall hear?  UstaCould I’d be up in at der bedroom makin’ whoopie.  Now I just sit round chear drinkin’, spittin’ and cussin’ at stuff.  I need ta git me a dawg.

Author: R. Christopher Hickok

Not exactly a theologian Not exactly a poet Exactly a reader Imprecisely a thinker Generally without a clue

Leave a comment